Monday, January 29, 2007

Alicia goes to Church?!?

That's right kids, yesterday, Sunday, January 28, I, Alicia Wickham Green, voluntarily attended church. Lauren, Ashley, Sarah, and I woke up early and took the #11 bus to St. Paul's Cathedral for the 11:30 mass. (Note for anyone coming to London- the #11 bus is even better than a sightseeing bus. It takes you past all the major attractions: Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, St. Paul's...pretty amazing ride.) Arrived at the cathedral a bit early, but since it was freezing outside we went inside and were able to sit down and take the whole thing in. It's an incredible building- I can't even fathom how it was constructed. The entire interior and exterior is decorated w. elaborate carvings and sculptures and artwork; the stained glass windows and paintings are beautiful as well- it's fairly difficult to describe such a building, but it was gorgeous.
The mass itself was beautifully orchestrated as well: everything was performed perfectly, with five priests and about five alter servers all dressed in a manner that can only be described as elegant. The choir that performed was incredible- it was a boys' and mens' choir, and the sound that came out of some of these 10 year olds was enough to give you goosebumps, although part of that may have been that fact that it was almost as cold inside the cathedral as it was outside. The choir boys were absolutely adorable in their robes and neck ruffles, and were the best part of the service by far.
After mass we headed back to the residence hall to get some reading done (yes, Melissa and Daryn, reading for school!) and cook yet another pasta dinner.
Later that night, the four of us headed out to Ain't Nothing But the Blues Bar, which is exactly what it sounds like. It's an adorable little hole-in-the-wall bar, and it is the only place in London which has live blues music seven night a week. The band that played was really quite good, and I had a great time! The good news is that there's no cover on Sunday nights, as well as Monday-Wednesday, so I am definitely going back.


Today, Lauren and I went back to our favorite cafe in Soho, Amato, for some jasmine tea. I was able to resist their amazing pastries in a valiant attempt to save money for traveling, but it was still lovely. Had to go to a film screening for my philosophy class, which was interesting, as usual. Then, we went out to the cinema where we saw 'The Last King of Scotland'. Although not a terribly uplifting movie (but what movie about Ugandan genocide can be?) I thought it was really well done, and I would definitely recommend seeing it- great acting, and a really important story.
So, here I am, procrastinating and not reading about metaethics. I'm going to Paris on Friday, and I can't even begin to describe how excited I am! I'm a bit worried about only knowing roughly 3 phrases in French, but Lauren has promised to write out a couple key sentences for us, and it's a touristy city, so I'm sure we'll be fine. I can not wait to see all the museums and I've heard stories of amazing food- crepes and baguettes to be specific. I'll let you know all about it soon!

2 comments:

Daryn said...

Just be careful about asking strangers on the streets for directions in Paris. When my sister went to visit, a woman slapped her friend across the face and proceeded to walk away... nice people.

p.s. I'm still not over you going to 9 and 3/4.

p.p.s Speaking of HP, Danielle Radcliffe is going to be completely nakie in a play in London called Equus during the Spring... apparently he has abs.

Tim said...

One rule in speaking french in france...overdo the accent. you will sound ridiculous to yourself, but honestly that is how they speak, it will sound much more normal to them. the less american you sound the better it will be.

say it with me now:
juh-maa-pelle alicia
juh-swee ahh-merr-e-can
ooou sawwn lay twoilettes? (that is clutch)

have fun!